Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Where can I find TRUENORTH® products?
A. TRUENORTH® products are available nationwide, including Walmart, Sam's Club, CVS, and H-E-B. You can use our store locator to find retailers in your area. http://www.demetscandy.com/storelocator.html
Q. I can't find TRUENORTH® products at my local retailers, can I order directly from you?
A. Unfortunately we are unable to sell our products directly to consumers at this time. We are working diligently to increase distribution to all retailers, including those in your area.
Q.Can I freeze TRUENORTH® Nut Clusters?
A.Yes, you can keep it in the freezer for up to 6 months. Be sure that the clusters are sealed in the original packaging or other airtight containers before freezing.
Q. Are TRUENORTH® products gluten free?
A. Most varieties of TRUENORTH® Nut Clusters are made with gluten-free ingredients and are processed and packaged on dedicated equipment. Even the brown rice syrup in TRUENORTH® products is gluten free. It is made with brown rice and enzymes, not barley malt.
The following varieties do not contain gluten: Almond Pecan Crunch, Cashew Crunch, Peanut Crunch, and Cherry Almond Crunch. The Chocolate Nut Crunch variety is produced on equipment that also handles pretzels. Although we take special care to thoroughly clean the equipment between each product, and independent laboratory analysis has shown that Chocolate Nut Crunch does not contain gluten, we believe it is important to inform consumers that it is possible for trace amounts of gluten to be present in the Chocolate Nut Crunch variety.
Q. Do TRUENORTH® nut clusters contain soy or dairy ingredients?
A. Most varieties of TRUENORTH® nut clusters do not contain any soy or dairy ingredients. Only the Chocolate Nut Crunch variety contains soy lecithin and dairy ingredients, so people with sensitivity to these ingredients should avoid consuming this variety. All relevant allergen information is printed clearly on each package, below the ingredient statement.
Q. The ingredients list for most TRUENORTH® varieties includes "organic sugar". What's the difference between organic sugar and regular sugar?
A. Sugar that is certified organic has been grown, harvested, and processed in accordance with federal standards for organic foods. Although the USDA and the FDA maintain strict standards for safe foods in the United States, there are additional standards for foods labeled as organic. Foods labeled as organic must comply with the National Organic Program (NOP) standards, as a result of the Organic Foods Production Act of 1990. In broad terms, the standards generally require:
- Avoidance of synthetic chemical inputs, such as chemical fertilizers, synthetic pesticides, genetically modified organisms (GMO), irradiation, industrial solvents and other chemical food additives,
- Use of farmland that is free from prohibited synthetic chemicals for 3 or more years,
- Separation of organic products from non-certified products, and
- Periodic on-site inspections to confirm compliance with the standards.
- The sugar we use in our TRUENORTH® products is organic, and therefore complies with NOP standards. In terms of flavor and sweetness, most people would not be able to discern a difference between organic sugar and ordinary sugar.
A. We're sorry, but unfortunately the TRUENORTH® Pistachio Crisps have been discontinued. At this time, we do not have any plans to continue selling the crisps. We know that some consumers will be disappointed that the crisps are no longer available. However, several factors contributed to this difficult decision, and we are unable to continue to offer the crisps.